HomeAcademicsStudent Achievements › National Merit Scholars

National Merit Scholars

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and college scholarships administered by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).  The program began in 1955. NMSC conducts two annual competitions for recognition and scholarships: the National Merit Scholarship Program, which is open to all students who meet entry requirements, and the National Achievement Scholarship Program in which only African American students participate. Each year a total of approximately 10,500 scholarships are awarded through NMSC programs.

Of the 1.5 million entrants, about 50,000 qualify for recognition. Over half of the Finalists are selected to receive scholarships underwritten by corporations and business organizations, colleges and universities, and by NMSC with its own funds.

Since 1996 New Covenant Schools has developed and graduated high achieving students.  About 15% of our graduates them have distinguished themselves as National Merit Scholar Finalists or Commended Scholars:

National Merit FinalistsCommended Scholars
Joel Hopkins (01)Cole Mabray (02)
David White (03)Peter Joslyn (02)
Nathan Davy (03)Michal Mabray (04)
Alix Flowers (04)Joshua Bohannon(05)
Alex Mayberry (04)Philip Shaughnessy (05)
Andy Kan (05)Caleb Trittipoe (06)
Ryan Bullock (06)Alex Gilley (09)
John McDouall (12)Tabitha Hindman (10)
Seth Mayberry (11)
Jay LaMagna (12)
Matthew Widmeyer (14)
Jonathan Widmeyer (14)
Garrett Reynolds (15)
Rebecca Pickard (16)